Hunter trio lead way

Harrison Chapman

HARRISON Chapman grew up in Newcastle playing rugby alongside Harry Johnson-Holmes and Phil Bradford.

On Saturday, the trio will anchor the NSW under-20s scrum against the Western Force in the opening game of the Super 20s tournament at Allianz Stadium.

Each has taken a different pathto the Waratahs under-20s.

Born in Maitland before playing juniors for Wanderers, Chapman went toThe Kings School in Sydney in year seven and is now studying construction management and playing with Randwick.

Johnson-Holmes, who went to school at Merewether High and played juniors for the Two Blues, is in his second year at Sydney University.

Bradford attended Hunter Sports High School, was a member of the Wanderers’ 2016 first-grade grand-final side and is in his first season at West Harbour.

Johnson-Holmes and Chapman represented NSW Schoolboystogether. Bradford, who was a year aboveat school, and Johnson-Holmes represented Australian Schoolboys.

“We have each taken different paths to get here but we still have that connection,” Chapman said. “We went away tocountry championships together and I used to come back and play for Wanderers during the holidays. No matter how far you go in rugby, you always go back to the boys you played junior footy with and have grown up with. Especially being front-rowers, there is nothing better than having everyone on the same page.”

Chapman will pack down at tight head, Bradford at hooker and Johnson-Holmes loose head.

After the Force, NSW have the bye and then meet the Brumbies,Queenland and Melbourne. The top two progress to the final. An Australian team will be named at the end of the tournament.

Meanwhile, Newcastle under-19s coach Tim Partridge has named a 37-man training squad ahead of their NSW Country title defence.

“There is a good mix of players from last year as well as boys stepping up from under-17s,”Partridge said.“Max Stafford, Nikolas Sykiotis, Luke Rees and Kade Robinson lead the senior group and there are some talented youngerones as well.”

See full Newcastle squad at 苏州美甲美睫培训theherald苏州美甲美睫培训419论坛.

Newcastle:LachlanArnold, Phoenix Bluegum,Hamish Boxall,Rhys Bray,Te AtaCarroll,AdrianChaplin, JaegerCollins,Lucas Corrigan,Thomas Crow,Jasper Darcy-Shaw,Derek Dinh,LachlanEarp,QuarteyFilipo, Lachlan Filtch,Cameron Flanning,NicolasGentizon, Ryan Jones,Charlie Kelleher,Liam Kelly,Jack Lawrence,Jacob Malcolm,Devante Manu,Eli McCullouch,Lachlan Miller,Connor Mulhearn,Broady Pearce, Brady Pitts,Joshua Raftos,Leif Ralph,Luke Rees,Kade Robinson,James Robinson,Oran Sheridan,Max Stafford,Nikolas Sykiotis,MadsonTarang, Tom Underwood,Jordan Walker.